Mindfulness Therapy.Anorexia.Beauty Thoughts

As I am taking Psychology, I started thinking on how I could help more people! Then I thought, well I have a blog for that! Here you all are!!

There Could Never Be A More Beautiful You

This was one of my favorite postings to do this week! Here you go! Learn psychology with me!

Discussion Question 1 (“Mindfulness based – CognitiveTherapy. Uses education and compassion)

Being Mindful of your feelings seems to go along with the recent discoveries of theophostic deep inner healing. You are taking control of what you are feeling by become aware just what this is.

The idea behind “mindfulness” sometimes called mindfulness-based cognitive therapy according to  Piet, J., Hougaard says, that it is designed to aid in preventing the regression back to depression. This is specific to people with MDD. This is helpful for the patient because it allows them to be educated on what they are dealing with, and sometimes depression is very confusing. Some severe forms of depression but are not sure why they are feeling that way. Did they have a reason?

It is very helpful for someone struggling with this disorder to be in a non judgmental state, where no one or no thing is judging them by what they are feeling. This use of therapy is so that you can understand, acknowledge, and accept those feelings of depression with no worries on how correct it is.

Christian psychologists, I believe may use this method frequently. To be without judgement seems like a good thing to have. I think people seeking therapy need to be listened to. It is hard to seem ask for help and open up to a stranger, so now more than ever, a first impression is vital. Once they see they are safe, both client and psychologist will have an easier time alleviating pain.

Discussion Question 2 ( Eating Disorders)

Eating disorders are a terrible thing to suffer from. I’ve known very close friends who do suffer from anorexia nervosa. Just experiencing anorexia means you have a lack of appetite due to some other factor. The nervosa added in the end means it’s psychological.

There are obvious risk factors from not eating: becoming too underweight is very dangerous for a young woman. If she gets too underweight and stops menstruating, she could loose bone mass/density. Factors also include: Light headedness, fatigue, sleep problems. The list could go on. However, the emotional toll it takes is even worse.

It seems in today’s society of life you just cannot win: she’s too fat, she’s too skinny, she’s too curvy, she’s not curvy enough. Women fall into the trap of they don’t feel skinny enough looking at magazines. Girls with airbrushed skin, perfect hair, a fake body, and thin…due to photoshop. Even the thinnest of girls in Hollywood suffer from the photoshop tools, making them look “ideal”.

This is bothersome in a Christian perspective because we know that God is perfect and works all things perfectly. Everything he created is beautiful. Especially man, given dominion over the earth. One of my favorite psalms is : If I say, “Surely the darkness will overwhelm me,

 

And the light around me will be night,” Even the darkness is not dark to You, and the night is as bright as the day. Darkness and light are alike to You. For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, and my soul knows it very well. (Psalm 139: 11-14)

So just remember, surely there could never be a more beautiful you.

Leave a Reply

