American Sniper Not Shown in All Theaters?

A week from today, American Sniper will premiere at local theaters around the nation. Lynnhaven Mall will be playing it, around my area the 14th of January! I’m super excited about that and…also not.

For those of you who don’t know, American Sniper is the movie rendition of the autobiography of CPO Chris Kyle. I’ve been so inspired by his valor throughout his life. I was so sad when he died.

I could do a whole other tragic, sad, tear jerking review on his book American Sniper but I won’t because that’s not what this is originally for. What I’m say here is that not all theaters in Virginia are going to play American Sniper when it comes out Nationwide on the 16th.

American Sniper dazzled this weekend with an $850K gross in just four venues over the long Christmas weekend. The title’s four-day average also puts it among 2014’s biggest openers among limited releases.

From Friday to Sunday, American Sniper grossed an estimated $610K, giving it a $152,510 average. In a straight comparison, that would mean Sniper is the year’s second-biggest specialty opener. (deadline.com) 

article-2334026-1A163DF5000005DC-76_306x423
The Hero Chris Kyle Holding His Book

My local theaters will not play American Sniper for throughout the course of its release it seems like. Whether or not this is some political scheme by left-wing libtards, it doesn’t really matter to me.

I just think that it’s odd. It broke the scales for limited release, yet two theaters, which have played other war movies, like Lone Survivor and Act of Valor, they will not play American Sniper. They do not have a leg to stand on of why they won’t show it at the theater. Theaters usually choose what movies to show based on the probability of income. Again, it broke the scales for limited release, yet two theaters which have shown these types of movies before will not allow it….

People are of course entitled to their own views. However, it’s very odd. Virginia has one of the largest Naval bases ever and we are usually very conservative down here. They will play Selma freely, but not consider American Sniper.

To add-on to the oddity, American Sniper shrank down to a parody by the Tonight Show. I like Jimmy Fallon, and do not think that he intentionally meant to make light of the situation of Kyle’s tragic story and death, but I turned it off. Neither Jimmy Fallon nor Bradley Cooper humbled themselves and realized the gravity of it.

It was disappointing. I like Bradley Cooper and still do — I loved him in Silver Lining’s Playbook. But for a man so honored to portray Chris himself, a little more respect for the man, would have not hurt his reputation. With respect to both, bad call…bad bad call in my household.

So whatever the reason for not showing American Sniper in all theaters in Virginia, I believe only 3 in the state are showing it (!), I think that these theaters should reconsider.

With all do respect.

SO! Is American Sniper debuting in your city? What are your thoughts on this? Please feel free to comment and let me know, even if you don’t agree with me.I hope you all have a great rest of the night and thanks for hanging with me for a few!

tumblr_inline_ms9jup4v8I1qz4rgp
Goodnight Sweetie

 

Leave a Reply

