Living with Dyspraxia

Dyspraxia. DysPRAXia. D.y.s.p.r.a.x.i.a.

What is it?!?Is it contagious?What are we go’n do about it!!

It’s really not that scary. Here is an excerpt from the official U.S. website (it was originally founded in the UK):

Dyspraxia is a neurological disorder throughout the brain that results in life-long impaired motor, memory, judgment, processing, and other cognitive skills. Dyspraxia also impacts the immune and central nervous systems. Each dyspraxic person has different abilities and weaknesses as dyspraxia often comes with a variety of comorbidities. The most common of these is Developmental Co-ordiantion Disorder (also known as DCD), a motor-planning-based disorder that impacts fine and gross motor development.

There are many early indications that a child is dyspraxic and a summary is shown below:

  • Irritable and difficult to comfort – from birth
  • Feeding difficulties: milk allergies, colic, restricted diet
  • Sleeping difficulties: problems establishing routine, requires constant adult reassurance
  • Delayed early motor development: sitting unaided, rolling from side to side: do not usually go through the crawling stage
  • High levels of motor activity: constantly moving arms and legs
  • Repetitive behaviors: head banging or rolling
  • Sensitive to high levels of noise
  • Continued problems with development of feeding skills
  • Toilet training may be delayed
  • Avoids constructional toys such as jigsaws and Lego.

These symptoms I have been exhibiting for a long time. Ever since I was a child, I had trouble with basic functions. The biggest one, oral.  Symptoms of oral problems from dyspraxia include,

  • May talk continuously and repeat themselves. Some people with dyspraxia have difficulty with organizing the content and sequence of their language
  • May have unclear speech and be unable to pronounce some words
  • Speech may have uncontrolled pitch, volume and rate. 

You can go to the website HERE!

I have sometimes become so annoyed with the speech impediments that I vow to stop talking.  (don’t stop talking) This was before I knew what it was and what I had already overcome. I had overcome a lot of these symptoms without even realizing it. I’ll go into detail a little later. But basically, I had trouble talking, moving my hands. Spacial orientation…GOD HELP ME! I could not for the life of me move those little lego looking toys to fit into the spaces!!! It was the most frustrating things. I’ve noticed over time it has gotten better. Because I can now fit the moon into the crescent shaped hole, but it’s difficult for me to see where things lie in space.

I have trouble focusing, trouble writing….so you know what I did? I wrote on GRAPH PAPER!! For years now, I’ve been writing on graph paper so that I could write So basically, the right and left hemisphere have some communication issues! Nothing more than that. It has a name. It has no cure though. However, adaptation  has been used throughout centuries. Before cutting edge medicine was introduced, people had to adapt and overcome.

Never Quit.

2 thoughts on “Living with Dyspraxia”

Leave a Reply

